New Review–A Monster Calls

I have crawled back to the planet’s surface briefly, mostly because I thought A Monster Calls was so amazing I needed to write something about it. And if anyone’s interested, check out Siobhan Dowd on Wiki–she was a very amazing person herself.

I’ve just had a lot going on that I won’t bore anyone with, then went on a week’s vacation, which was fantastic, to Victoria, British Columbia. I had never been to Canada before. Victoria is a beautiful city, I thought, and everyone was so nice that we saw (maybe we just looked like tourists and the curmudgeonly ones avoided us).

I am still editing the second book. One of us is going to survive this process, and it is going to be me. That’s what I’ve determined. Then I have to format it. That’s a completely separate issue that doesn’t really have to do with either of us, because at that point, I think the manuscript and I will both be whimpering in a corner.

Sort of like my attempts to make a cover. I found all this fantastic free software to use for images, etc. I even found some copyright free, royalty free, std free images (they assured me they’d been tested). My efforts have proven…interesting. And apparently the truly embarrassing one that I finally managed to do something with has now disappeared (that may be a good thing). My main problem is I’m impatient and won’t read the tutorials. Right. I can just pick up Gimp and learn to use it intuitively. I can’t even manage to put two layers together (unless it’s a cake, and that’s still dubious at times and usually involves a bread knife and verbal threats). I actually did look up instructions on a few things, and they make it sound so easy on the forums: first you do this, and this you  press this button and choose this brush, bring up the color palette, pick these two colors, apply this filter, and then you have gold font! Mine was neon orange. Maybe my computer has a different idea of what gold should look like, or it’s stuck in retro 80’s mode.

Which, if anyone has looked at my Goodreads feed, has driven me to read questionable romance novels. I really debated whether or not to include them, but I’ve challenged myself to read 143 books by the end of the year and I’m getting behind. That’s not why I’m reading them, though. And certainly not for their covers! Dear gods, no. I have actually been ready them on my iPhone so no one knows what I’m reading. I do have to say, though, some of them are much better than I would have given them credit to be, better even than some fantasy I’ve read. I’m reading one right now by an author who I just finished one by, and it’s so completely formulaic, it’s sad. I’m not too far into it, but the premise is almost exactly the same. But some of them have women who are being forced into marriages (I tend to stick to period ones) and are attempting to get out of them by running away, or some other means, so at least they’re not completely spineless and fainting at everything. Some of them have intentionally funny parts in them. I’m actually starting to respect it a little more as a genre, although I don’t know that I could write it. I’d end up with worst sex scene of the year or something. I suppose, though, in the period ones, they’re depicting women as being just as sexual as men (as long as it’s consensual). I don’t think I should even start a discussion about this.

Anyway, new review-yay!

Leave a Reply

