Distractions

I didn’t have any intention of doing anything here, although the post I mentioned I am still planning on. It involves very small objects made out of paper that aren’t origami…

I don’t know how I possibly got into this, but I somehow found myself on Amazon’s Author Central page. And it was free. I thought, I might as well try it. I have no expectations. I had to write a bio, which I hate doing, but did an odd one which they’ll probably vet and throw back at me, because I included the Joy of Sex or something. I decided to post it here on the odd chance that someone might find it interesting how I started “this writing thing” in the first place. Maybe the swan poem is one of the reasons I like “A Zed and Two Naughts.” Never put the two together before. (Swan crashing into windshield scene). NOT that I had any tendency toward violence or violent acts like arson or anything as a child. The swan in my poem was floating on a lake or something inane. Doing swan things. Anyway, here’s what I wrote:

I don’t actually remember when I started writing–I used to tell myself stories and don’t know when I started writing them down–I started writing poetry first. The only one I remember is something about a swan. The world will be a better place if that poem doesn’t see the light of day again. I have always liked fantasy. My sister (who went through middle child syndrome at the age of 21) likes sci-fi. I read early, and read the Lord of the Rings to myself when I was in 1st grade. How much of that actually made sense to me, I don’t know, but it did effect me profoundly. Of course, so did Pippa Mouse. My parents had an enormous amount of books, and let me read what I wanted (except for The Joy of Sex, which disappeared when I was about 12). Two other series which had a great impact on me when I was a child were the All Creatures Great and Small books (I wanted to be a vet for a long time–I thought it was great there were so many services for vets, then I realized that abbreviation was for veteran, not veterinarian) and Flambards, because I loved horses and early airplanes. So I think the first thing I wrote was a combination of horses, airplanes, and a large family of whom several wanted to become veterinarians. I was very serious about it. This was when I was about twelve, I think. Somehow, this mess morphed into a fantasy novel, which involved none of the above at all. The only thing that was left was the large family, because as the oldest, I always wanted to be the youngest and have older brothers who would take care of me (from what I’ve heard, though, this isn’t always the case, and the youngest sister could be used for anything ranging from the scapegoat to a basketball).

There is a very large gap from when I started Aithin and when I finished it. Officially finished it. I don’t know if I can ever be officially finished. I look back and start to fiddle with it when I’m using it as a reference for the series that follows it. There’s probably a good fifteen years that it sort of just sat there. And now, because I don’t know when to say stop, (when writing, honestly) I’ve created a series, which makes me annoyed, because it annoys me when other authors do that. The next part is very, very long, and I am working on finishing it to find splitting points to separate it. It’s turned into a saga about the family and what happens to them through the years.

I love writing. It is like breathing. It’s how I work things out in a creative way. I was beginning to worry about becoming a little obsessive with it, but then obsessively worked on another project and am looking at something of someone else’s that I should have done ages ago. I’m finding it quite satisfying.

About me: I live in Oregon, my normal job is working with children with developmental disabilities, I love the rain, especially when I’m inside, going out for coffee, reading (blessings on our wonderful library here!)… I sort of tried to explain to my physical therapist why I didn’t have any empty wall space for one of the exercises I have to do at home, but I don’t think most people understand when your interior decorating consists of bookshelves in every possible place. I think that’s it for now.

Leave a Reply

